The Award
People Involved

The Wolf Project Award recipients are listed in this section. Please note the groups and individuals who were involved with the award presentations. It demonstrates the widespread opportunity for others to become involved.

Select a recipient category:

Edmonton Police Services - Indigenous Relations Unit

On October 26, 2016, the Edmonton Police Services - Indigenous Relations Unit was honoured with a Wolf Award for their Oskayak Police Academy.  This program engages, inspires and informs Indigenous youth about policing practices, cultural and police protocols and crime prevention initiatives.

The Wolf Statue, named “Mahiken” was presented during a ceremony on October 26, 2016 by Heather Acres and Fred Hines. Chief Rod Knecht accepted the Wolf Award for the Edmonton Police Service’s work with Edmonton’s Indigenous community. Elders present included Frances Whiskeyjack, Leith Campbell, Jeanette Lean and former Wolf Award recipient, Elder Donald Langford

Christ Church Cathedral

On April 3, 2005, the congregation of Christ Church Cathedral was honoured with The Wolf Award for their steadfast and unwavering support to the Noongam Traditional Powwow, held in downtown Ottawa for the past seven years. This critical support has enabled the powwow to provide aboriginal and non-aboriginal people of Ottawa an affordable and accessible way to share in the beauty of aboriginal culture.

A special certificate was given to Dean Peter Coffin and congregation member Garth Hampson to honour their mobilizing leadership.

The Wolf Statue, named “Unitas” was presented during a ceremony on April 3, 2005 with several Wolf Project representatives present: Elder William Commanda, Bea MacTavish, Ray Sunstrum, Minnie Matoush, Marian Taylor and Romola Trebilcock.

Iskotew Lodge

Iskotew Lodge, located in Ottawa, Ontario was established as a healing and wellness lodge for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal employees of Health Canada and other government departments. It provides an opportunity to gain a greater appreciation and understanding of traditional Aboriginal cultures and practices. The lodge provides support and guidance for problems in the worksplace arising from cultural differences, work-related stress, and differing attitudes.

All employees are welcome to make appointments with visiting Elders for individual sessions and spiritual guidance. The lodge also hosts workshops.

This Wolf Award was presented by our Special Advisor, Elder William Commanda, Board Members, Raymond Sunstrum and Romola Trebilcock and Wolf Carrier Marion Taylor in April 2003. Supporting the presentation were representatives from The Odawa Native Friendship Centre, and The Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health.

Durham District School Board Race Relations Office

The Durham District School Board Race Relations Office received their Wolf Award for their long term commitment to promoting the elimination of racism through various programs, most notably, the STAR program (Students Together Against Racism). Through this program they have trained over 1000 students in leadership skills to promote unity.

This Wolf was awarded in Whitby, Ontario on November 16, 2000. It was presented by board members Romola Trebilcock & Raymond Sunstrum and by a Wolf Project Special Advisor, Elder William Commanda.

Ajax Race Relations Advisory Committee

The Ajax Race Relations Advisory Committee, established in 1996, received the Wolf Award for their ongoing efforts providing multicultural festivals, helping to establish a municipal race relations policy and for their work in the areas of education and network development.

The Ajax Race Relations Advisory Committee is viewed as providing a wonderful example of a systematic approach toward the development of community participation to address racism.

This Wolf was awarded in Ajax during their Millennium Multicultural Festival in April, 2000. It was presented by board members Romola Trebilcock & Raymond Sunstrum and by Wolf Award recipient Elder William Commanda.

The Nunavut Working Group on Human Resources and Training

Presented in Inuvik, Nunavut, this diverse group was honoured for its excellence not only in working together so well but for its devotion to preparing their region for a government that truly reflects the diversity of the people it serves.

This award was presented by Heather Acres, Project Manager.


- Mr. Raymond Sunstrum
- The Multicultural Committee
- The Native Student & Friends Group
- Le Projet des Mediateurs
- Martine-Carolle Landriault

These individuals and groups were collectively honoured for their efforts to combat racism at D'Arcy McGee High School and at école St-Jean Bosco in Hull, Québec.

This award was presented by The Spiritual Assembly of the Baha'is of Aylmer and other volunteers.

The Kumik

Presented at The Kumik in Hull, Quebec, this award honoured the organizations work establishing a meeting place where all people can learn from Canada's respected Aboriginal Elders. Community and workplace members can attend morning pipe ceremonies and consult with the Elders throughout the day. The program's intent is to improve understanding of our First Nations people and to provide support for First Nations people working within the Federal Government Department of Indian Affairs.

This Wolf was presented by Heather Acres, Project Manager.